Poets logo

Love Bomb

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished about a month ago 1 min read
9
Image: Freepix

Don’t do it.

Don’t come in and make my heart spin, just to retract and step back without warning,

I mean fuck, that’s so boring!

Come up with something different, please. Say what you mean - don’t drop the bomb, then run, this isn’t fun for anyone,

do you see what I mean, or don’t you?

Like far out, you had all these rules you wanted me to follow - some were fairly hard to swallow, but I did it anyway because I thought fair play,

but what about me and my needs?

Is there gonna be anything, or should I just set myself free all together, because I’m not gonna beg ya - I just can’t do it, not anymore, not like I have before.

I didn’t ask for this either, you came to me, or don’t you remember?

I wasn’t even looking,

so please, I beg ya, don’t do it, don’t drop the bomb and run, ‘cause that ain’t fun for anyone,

just don’t do it, be real for me please, just say what you mean - at least help put my mind at ease.

performance poetry
9

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so relatable. I'm so sorry you've experienced this too 🥺 Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Powerful performance poem!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    The image, your words! What sad beautiful piece!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Love that photo!!! Rules?? Oh hell no. One sided communication- nope. Not worth the time or frustration. Go for kind and appreciative and good hearted, not the bad boys. 😬

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Well done Jess. This really matches the name and is an experience so many people have had too. If it is in any way autobiographical, then I'm sorry. Well expressed though, with that fire you always seem to bring! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.