Poets logo

Garden of the Next Generation

Social Commentary on Tolerance and Hate

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Garden of the Next Generation
Photo by Gabriel Jimenez on Unsplash

They're old,

So mind your temper,

Bite your tongue.

It's their generation, just let it go.

I run through the forest

Beating my hands against my chest

Like a drum,

Roaring my outrage

Like a gorilla in the jungle

Ready for war,

To claim and destroy.

I've no patience or tolerance left

For hatred that festers and spews.

They have had time to wake up,

Learn, mature.

Even raised under their care,

I saw the wrong and left their ways.

I cannot be silent or still.

It's time they learn

There is no acceptance

Here in my land, in my home for

The vile things they think and say.

My heart weeps at their words,

Aches for my fellow children of

The earth, the world, of Christ.

I cannot be the next Christian to

Silently allow them to continue to dig

And plunder the land with the plow

Only to plant more seeds of hate.

It is others and me plucking out

Ugly weeds from ugly words,

So why should I let the seeds fall at all?

They have awoken the righteous temper

That slept in my heart like a lion

Resting in the warm sun.

And, I will bellow and snarl

Despite my appearance of weak.

I may rest with sheep, but I am not

Part of the flock.

And oh my heart, it bleeds and pours

To hear their words and see their actions.

And my soul burns with the ache

My mouth parts to speak

Because I have no tolerance for

Hateful things in the garden I planted.

inspirationalperformance poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Laura LannWritten by Laura Lann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.