Poets logo

Garden In My Soul

In the Soil of Spirit, Roots of Strength

By Annetta BrownPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
Garden In My Soul
Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash

The Lord planted a garden in my soul

With the most beautiful plants, I did not know

He said, “Water your garden with the Holy Spirit

And watch your garden grow.

Day after day I forgot about my garden

Lived by my own will without the Holy Spirit

Little did I know weeds of ugliness started to grow.

I was living my life on shaky ground

My garden started to disappear and

could not be found.

I said, “one day I will find the Lords

Garden He planted in my soul”.

And lived my life on my own.

No matter what I did nothing seemed right,

the harder I tried I wanted to fight, to do my

own thing but my life had no light.

Then one day when I got to the

‘end of my rope”,

Something lit up in my heart,

a ray of hope!

I was cleaning the clutter out of my life,

and came across a book.

The Lord said,” Let’s start here where we grew apart”.

I had found my companion of years past.

It felt like I was home at last!

As I started to read a shining light came to mind.

There was something I needed to find.

My hands flew to my heart and I

dropped to my knees.

I knew that it was the Lord’s garden He planted

In my soul covered with weeds.

I asked,” Lord what should I do”?

He said,” Child confess your sins and become new”!

So I confessed my sins and prayed with all my heart.

The Lord took my hand and said,” You do not have to do this alone”.

“ Take my hand and I will lead you home”.

I took the Lord’s hand and we walked into my garden.

I asked,” Where should we start”?

The Lord said,” Let’s start here where we grew apart”.

The Lord and I started to pull the weeds from the garden of my soul.

I watched as my life became full of light.

I knew right then I did not have to fight.

For I had the Lord right by my side.

love poemsnature poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Annetta Brown

With pen in hand and heart laid bare, I write a chronicle of experiences, transforming the ordinary into extraordinary verses that resonate with the universal rhythms of existence.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.