Poets logo

Futility

And Its Enchantment

By Obsidian WordsPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
17
Futility
Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

I am an unwilling spectator,

Eyes magnetised to the crucible

Unable to withdraw.

I watch as you rant and rage,

Pummeling the wall in your way

Despite the presence of a door.

I see flecks of flesh and blood

Splatter in vandalist style

Knuckles well-coated in gore.

I flinch with each strike

As I watch you, estranged

And I don't know why I watch anymore

Do I hate the futility

Or can only I see it?

Does blindness consume your chore?

My voice long extinct,

I watch and I wait,

I just wish that I knew what for.

slam poetryMental Healthsocial commentaryheartbreak
17

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • TheSpinstress9 days ago

    Powerful and relatable. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Flamance @ lit10 days ago

    Nice work I like that energy

  • Trinity H11 days ago

    so so so well written!! the futility of anger is so real

  • Derby Hyrum14 days ago

    Remote work isn't just a trend, it's the qg future of work. Work Remotely from your own house. We just want your typing skills, You can make more than 120USD/Hr. No matter where you are. Let’s Grow together and do great things, even if we’re far apart… Take a Look.......................... W­w­w.S­m­a­r­t­P­a­y­7.c­o­m

  • D. D. Lee14 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Anger issues are prevalent within the wall prose . 🙃♥️

  • "Pummeling the wall in your way / Despite the presence of a door," says so much. You've painted such a clear picture of anger problems and abuse with this poem. Phenomenal job!

  • Amanda Starks15 days ago

    Oh my gosh this hits way too damn well. Your word choice here is really, really good and it feels like an open and honest take on what it's like to be on the other side of someone in your life who is toxic/has anger management issues/abusive. ( However one might interpret it! ) I really could relate to this: I watch as you rant and rage, Pummeling the wall in your way Despite the presence of a door. When I was younger my father and I had toxic, yelling matches. He was verbally abusive, ( and as a teenager I was too ), and if I stayed silent I felt like I had no power. But when I was vocal sometimes it would be worse. I'm thankful today we have a much better relationship, but back then this poem probably would have gut punched me even harder! Amazing work, Obsidian!! <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.