Poets logo

Full Moon Rising

It is my only explanation, for events that should be forgotten

By JBazPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10

I'm doing the time,

Because of the wine.

Perhaps it's a dream, I truly don't know,

But I'll tell you my story of sorrow and woe.

It starts with a party, and much alcohol I did take,

Sobriety was something I soon could not fake.

I desperately needed to get out of this place,

Wobbling outside, seeking fresh air for my face.

I tried hailing a cab, for I was too high,

And hopped in a car that happen to pass by.

Blindly I fumbled and stumbled within,

My stomach protesting from way too much gin.

The driver did stare and started to speak,

His voice crackled and broke, he only could squeak.

Something was wrong, which I soon did surmise,

It was a joyriding teen, whom I took by surprise.

Lights they were flashing, and sirens did scream,

He stepped on the gas, and we soon fled the scene.

Taking off in a flash, like an uncontrolled comet,

He may have gotten away, if not for the vomit.

It spewed forth from me like a volcano eruption,

As fate played a part, the road was under construction.

The brakes they did lock under way too much pressure,

This ride was insane and anything but leisure.

We came to an urgent and abrupt stop,

When we heard the tires of our car go pop, pop.

The lights they did flicker, and sirens still wailed,

I tried to get out but miserably failed.

Now I know with my belly, a belt I should use,

For as I stood my pants dropped to my shoes.

To everyone's horror and utter surprise,

I fell on my face and a full moon did rise.

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Lol, this was hilarious!

  • A.N.Tiptonabout a year ago

    Haha this is fun!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Hilarious and fun to read! One of my favorites for this challenge so far!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Bahahahahaha, this is great! Such visuals

  • Stephanie Buchmanabout a year ago

    This is hilarious!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Hahahahaha! Clever and hilariously funny! You did well :)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Wow, this poem took me from "Cool Hand Luke" to "Rudolph the Rednose Reindeer" to "There's Something About Mary." Very cute ending!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Bahaha. This is great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.