Poets logo

From the Outside

A Poem for Falling in Love

By Kate SutherlandPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
(Image by Pexels from Pixabay )

I didn't feel her, exactly,

Fate's Temptress,

her finger beneath my chin

tilting my face to look upwards, just then,

in time to watch you enter the room

A gust of fresh air

to enliven the stale jaded dimness

My hands held onto a worn-in guitar

Strumming gently I fumbled a beat

You noticed, I think

That's when you turned to look,

to hit me with the fullness of your gaze

From the outside,

nothing seemed to happen

as my world within transformed

and my core became embers

growing brighter with each breath

Fierce bellows out of nowhere

but your quiet open stare

I swear you watched those black coals come to life

after years of being cold in the dark

From the outside,

just a subtle soft glow in my cheeks

I kept singing the words of a long-ago lovesong

suddenly relevant again

waking up from bored sleep

Tired memory washed up to be purged by new fire,

old pain swept away in the undertow,

leaving nothing but the promise of Again

Let's do this again

I will open up

Again

From the outside,

I remained a Girl on her stool

singing songs about Freedom and Love,

and all around us people nodded their heads

keeping rhythm with closed eyes

and smiling to the croon of my voice

The little fire grew warmer

in the pit of my stomach

dancing brighter and careless,

maybe reckless

Bright beauty is hard to ignore

A small voice warned against

the burn of hot flame:

Do you remember the shouting?

The betrayal?

The shame?

How you longed to rip open your chest

to excavate the pain?

Yes, I remember,

the way a mother recalls the birth of her child after the passing of time:

Sure, it hurt, but it wasn't all that bad, really,

Let's do it again, let's have another

Just look at the life we've brought forth,

the Joy!

The eyes open now to miracles,

the heart aware now of its unending capacity to Love

to go deeper into the meaning of Life

From the outside,

I kept singing

There was nothing else to do,

until after the stage lights went dim

and I could lay down my guitar

—the armour of performance—

and ask you to buy me a drink.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kate Sutherland

Kate is a Song-writer, an Artist, and a Kung Fu Teacher. She loves exploring a multitude of creative paths, and finds joy in inspiring others to do the same.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.