Poets logo

From My Heart To Yours

Tethered by love

By Colleen Millsteed Published 28 days ago 2 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

The human heart beats with the essence of life,

An organ that keeps death at bay,

But it holds more complexity than just a beat or two,

In fact, it has so much it needs to say.

**

There are the butterflies that flutter from deep within,

That gaze that causes the strong beat to run,

The emotions that swell it to twice its size,

And the laughter that sees it thrum in fun.

**

It does somersaults when a hug is received,

And smiles internally when presented with memories,

It strums along tethered to other precious souls,

And holds a chest full of treasuries.

**

A whisper in the night can cause it to stutter,

Where it’ll skip a beat and dash all a flutter,

Especially when a caress makes it skip a beat,

As it races to a peak when it feels the heat.

**

It feels your emotions to the tenth degree,

It tears to pieces at a loss or heartbreaking death,

It screams in agony when it crushes and breaks,

And often steals our life giving breath.

**

It pounds to defence when our connections pine,

Feeling compassion for others when we hear a cry,

Softly breaking on another’s behalf,

Or whenever we feel their deep-seated sigh.

**

Why?

What is it about this vessel that causes this hue?

The duties it’s responsible for over and above sustaining life,

Why? Because it’s the very definition of “I Love You!”

This poem has been written as part of the Know Thyself, Heal Thyself Prompt by Diana C. (Medium Publication and Writer)

I chose the following prompt :

Write about your translation of the words “I love you.”

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poems
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Thomas Jefferson27 days ago

    Cherish the people around you because they make life worth living. Make the most of every day and live it to the fullest because we never know how much time we have left. I wish you good health, a bright future and a happy life. May you always be surrounded by love and support. 🙏🙏🙏

  • This is so true, my friend! Such a beautiful translation of I Love You!

  • So so true! I am in love with your poem.

  • Daphsam28 days ago

    Very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.