Poets logo

From darkness to light

The morning’s redemption

By Kelly DickersonPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
From darkness to light
Photo by Max Felner on Unsplash

I'm nothing without you, this truth I once swore,

Your false love was my sky, I craved nothing more.

In your reflection, I was lost, a shadow merely cast,

My worth determined by your fleeting glance, fast.

Shackled by your ego, my spirit longed for release,

Your love, a prison, where self-respect ceased.

But now,

My self-respect is reborn, freed from your love's prison,

My spirit breaks the shackle, with a purpose risen.

I am more than just a shadow, in your ego's cast,

I am worth the world, no longer tied to your glance, fast.

Your false love, I reject, I crave something more,

Without you, I am everything, this truth I now roar.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like how reading it in reverse seems like someone reflecting back on their past, whereas the first reading feels fresher, like it’s just happened. This is full of some great lines, like “Shackled by your ego, my spirit longed for release”. Nicely done Kelly🙂

  • Abody N. Eiid4 months ago

    I really enjoyed reading that ❤️, and I hope you 'll read my stories and rate me on them because I care about your opinion🥰💝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.