Poets logo

From Behind a Door

Truest love at first sight

By Lori LewisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Never could I have imagined

that my truest love could enter my world

heralded by the chime of my own doorbell

front door framing him

nestled against another woman

eyes shining, excitement about all of life

written so plainly upon his beautiful face

In a single moment, I was lost

but also found

instantly so sure

of the advent of a love

that even death itself

would never fade

Filled so suddenly

and so completely

with a longing for a life

lived closely by his side

walking in step together

toward every trial

and every triumph

us, against the world

From that instant, I was his

and knew that he was mine already, too

despite still having never touched

Manners suddenly remembered, I step aside,

letting them into my home

and him into my heart

Before too long, it was he and I

who were so closely pressed together

rules be damned,

consequences to be conquered

another day

The other woman breezed back out my door, alone

leaving us to share our first sweet kisses,

our early moments in the camera's eye

capturing proof of a love already so gorgeous

and so limitless

that six years together has only seen it grow

Even though his days before me

were steeped in fear and challenge

and his time still to come

so cruelly short

we have shared countless adventures

and the love between us has been sweeter

than I ever could have dreamed

On paper, I saved him

in truth, he rescued me

and though others and their rules

were not happy

I have never been more so

since the day he came along

and with just one look,

in only one second

stole my heart.

I guess what they say is true

Love at first sight is real

and

you'll never find a better friend,

or a more committed, unconditional love

than with a dog

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.