Poets logo

From Across The Room

LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

By Sonja EdwardsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
From Across The Room
Photo by Brock Wegner on Unsplash

From across the room I knew he was the one;

A strong black man with his dark brown skin and light brown eyes that turned hazel in the sun;

He spoke so boldly yet with grace and elegance;

I dare not stare at him but gave him a beguiling glance;

From across the room I checked out his locked down finger;

If Billy Dee Williams were 30 years younger this man could be a dead ringer;

This man is tall and fine;

I can't get this man off my mind;

As a secretary sent to take notes;

I couldn't help but imagine what was underneath his coat;

His body looked as if he stayed in the gym;

From across the room I just had to meet him;

If only I could speak to this man in his fly business suit;

What am I saying he looks too astute;

Standing over there like a military soldier;

Mmm mmm mmm I can drink him up like a cup of Folgers;

If it's true that there are 2 women to every 5 men;

I would fight tooth and nail just to be with him;

Once he took notice of me the very next few weeks, I saw him as my groom;

Another man he was dating the whole time, I guess I wasn't the only one who saw this man from across the room.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sonja Edwards

I am 56 years old. l love God poetry, stories, creating, designing, art, and I have an online store called God's Flourishings No.1.

gods-flourishings-no-1.myshopify.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.