Poets logo

From across the bar...

There you are.

By Molly Aitken Sheridan Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
From across the bar...
Photo by Alexander Popov on Unsplash

Behind the bar with

False sense of security

I continue on

#

Every day I feel

Like my heart is undergoing

Daily dialysis

#

One day closer to

Feeling like myself again

And getting you out

#

Then out of nowhere

There you are, in front of me

With your intent look

#

Emotions seep in

Shock the system all at once

Treatment is now stalled

#

They all bubble up

Like the post mix I add to

The purchased spirits

#

You looked so damn good

Better than I remember

Can't help but think it

#

Your presence brings a

Warming glow to the cold dark

Corner of the room

#

Your smile pricks my skin

with goosebumps, that make me

Shake but also melt

#

Your stare reminds me

Of how you used to look at

Me, so intrigued

#

Like Motley Crue sang

You kickstarted my heart

What do I do now?

#

Did I just need to

See you once more? To complete

My recovery?

#

Has this maybe worked?

Done the trick? Am I still hooked?

Only time will tell...

*

love poems

About the Creator

Molly Aitken Sheridan

Expressing thoughts, feelings and stories in many different forms!

Check out my other side hustles here: https://linktr.ee/mollytheolly

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Molly Aitken Sheridan Written by Molly Aitken Sheridan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.