Poets logo

From a Time When I Thought I Knew You

A Collection of Poems about Heartbreak

By Aminah MuhammadPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

My heart is beating like this, over kisses that I’ve missed and hugs I never shared, with you, oh you with those dark brown eyes, you made me realize that my time is valuable, and it couldn’t be wasted on someone like you. Oh, you that made me feel like I was flying when I was falling the words you whispered to me, you used to call me darling.

I no longer hear your voice, you send me vague texts at 3am asking me why did we end? I believe you have the answers to those questions my friend. Friend, that’s all you’ll ever be to me now. And I to you, because friends don’t pour out their hearts and send kiss emojis when they’re just thinking of them. Nor do they hold them so close their lungs might burst.

I put down the phone and delete every sentence that you don’t deserve. The screen goes black and that’s where we left that.

- Goodbye

I just wanted to know how you were, I just wanted to know if you meant what you said when you left me in tears behind that text you sent. I just wanted to know if you liked slow dancing with her, when you wouldn’t even touch me, I just wanted to know if she stayed up with you when you wanted to talk about the world and how it didn’t make sense, I just wanted to know if you were comfortable leaving me behind, I just wanted to know if I ever cross your mind. Because you damn sure break the street signs and sky scrapers in mine, you smash buildings and break glass. But I watch like always, because there’s nothing else I can do. – Just the thought of you

I still text you, wiping water from my eyes I add a laughing emoji to the text I send you. I don’t want to feel clingy, I don’t want to feel like you have to reply. Hell, you don’t even want me to be your girlfriend. You don’t want me to ask about your day, laugh with you until our sides hurt, or have inside jokes. You want us to talk, and flirt and cupcake like you cupcake with half of the university you go to, and half of your home town, and all of me. Why confess a like to me, when I was ready for a love? - A text

To be honest, I shouldn't have got my hopes up, to be honest I should have known there had to be some kind of catch when you told me you felt the same way about me. To be honest I knew "living your best life and having fun" meant that you wanted to keep your options open and commitment was never on the table in the first place. To be honest talking to you and flirting kept giving me false hope that we would ever be together. Something in my heart tells me, I was never your first choice. - To Be Honest

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Aminah Muhammad

Most people call me Minah, I've been writing since I was 12 and I figured why not share it?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.