Poets logo

Frivolous Writings

12 March 2021

By Veronica Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Sten Ritterfeld on Unsplash

My stagnant retreat in Statesboro beguiled me towards full eradication of self-development, both physical and mental, resulting into “spiritual savers mode”, a pending nuance of self.

Habitually hibernating

I wandered deep into the abrasions

Of a past let go

By a decade of decadence

And booze

I chose to wallow

In the waters of my own dismay.

A tortured temptress

Condemned by my own tenacity

Tiptoeing in the same circles

Cycles

Of mistrust

For my own inner knowledge

Of self

I felt I had no wealth.

If I had no answers to pour

To the kitchens of the needy

And poor

I became a bore

To include the mindless madness

Of the neighbors that pitied me

Only when I suffered at the lack of a penny.

They found I had many passions

Of which they were lacking

So push came to shove

And a jester I had become

To entertain the weary masses

Who I would beguile

Behind rose kissed glasses

A shade far too kind

For their lack of divine

Tasteless mercenaries

Tactful in remission

I began to beg for permission

A coercion built from

Lack of intuition.

excerptssad poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    I felt this was all over the place it the best kind of way , like being on a wild fairground ride of words. Loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.