Poets logo

Friends Forever

The keychains and bracelets that prophesies that your friendship will last forever is just a prediction. I have always wanted a friend that would get something like that with me and I finally found her. Even at twenty-one, I am elated to share this keychain with her. It will take work, but I hope that these keychains will predict our future correctly.

By Amanda JonesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Friends Forever
Photo by Katie Treadway on Unsplash

We purchased heart halves that say, "Friends Forever," to attach to our keychains and matching bracelets,

Apart of me says, "This is for children."

I think back to previous friends,

the ones who never would have gotten friendship jewelry with me.

Maybe, it is okay to have a part of your heart to remain childlike.

Children are always learning. Adults have learned, but continue to learn everyday.

My childish nature is naive. She has been bruised by "best friends."

Fear shrouds my childish enamor with these friends forever charms.

Skepticism extenguishes the flames of joy, while my charm charms me with the idea of forever.

A sense of apprehension starts to flood,

I stand still with my feet planted firmly inside my gratuity of our friendship,

All of the times I have made your ears bleed,

I love the idea that these charms project,

Childish is what these charms are not,

Hopeful of a wonderful life, and adventures with you sprinkled in it,

is exactly what it is.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Jones

I am 21 years old and work as a pharmacy technician. I am going to college for a bachelors degree in communications. I enjoy writing and watching tv shows and movies. I also have a cat, her name is Binx. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.