Poets logo

Freo Markets

This is not a poem about veggies and tote bags.

By Holly AmberPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

The groceries I bought at the market today, squished in my little tote bag. Brushing past my hips as I walk

I’m trying to be careful not to bruise the mushrooms again, or burst the cherry tomatoes. This is the only clean bag I have left.

The rest of them are on the floor in my room somewhere; feeding a colony of ants with stale crumbs left over from past adventures and happy memories.

Todays consisted of fighting away a seagull while I tried to enjoy this fancy hot dog. It’s the only real protein I’ve had all week and I didn’t intend on sharing.

When I reached my spot on the wall at the beach, I let me legs dangle over the edge of the sandy wall and got lost in the push and the pull of the ocean and it’s ability to cleanse.

I sat for hours, lost in the way the sea foam is chased along the sand, then swept away again;

Washing away uneven ground; wishing it would wash away mine.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.