Poets logo

Freedom Rings

A Poem of Struggle

By Greg B.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Bet not be late

Freedom rang

The soldiers are returning

Celebrations seen

White folks dancing

Confusing obscene

dinner bell rings

did my freedom ring

hands in the garden

kids in the bayou

cant buy you freedom things

imagine if Susan be Ida

what a righteous sting

supremacy was her property

burned bra straps

mean nothing to me

dinner bell rings

massa say he want collards

all I can see is the streams

fireworks in distance

did my freedom ring

Im tired so soiled

my breast lend

life to another

not my offspring

didn't even birth em

skin light as cotton

waiting for my son

he fighting for freedom see

that word a strange one

means more to you not me

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Greg B.

Black Man. Writer.

Now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.”

“I sit with Shakespeare and he winced not.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.