Poets logo

Freedom of Myself

A short poem inspired by how society seems to view people, and how the herd mind seems to like everyone together, yet anyone who is free is scorned for saying such

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Freedom of Myself
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Do not tell me how I should be

I will be myself, not your doll to pull and push.

Do not expect me to follow suit like a sheep

for I have my own mind, and I will forever speak it true.

Do not tell me that I am weak

I have been through more than you tiny heart could take.

Do not think your university degree impresses me

its a piece of paper at the end of the day

and I have more qualifications than you would even understands.

Do not shame me before you know me

I'm not your lap dog, I'm myself

do not cast me as if I'm the same as the herd

for I'm myself and no one can take that freedom away from me.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.