Poets logo

Freedom Is an Illusion

#essaypoetry

By Owen BelenPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
Like
Freedom Is an Illusion
Photo by Jason Hogan on Unsplash

I travel through the barren land of my mind, displaced and alone. A heart brimming with curiosity was stripped of its radiance, a world once vibrant with beauty now tarnished and gray. A heart heavy with expectation, my head hanging in my hands, running my fingers through the cracks. I saw a spark of hope as if a searchlight in the darkness. A way out, a way to escape the horrors I’ve ever seen or had. A pilgrimage in search of that which is lovely, to rekindle the fire. I pack my bags and prepare for the journey of discovery. A long, winding road led me to where this energy is abundant. I’ve come to the place where the light prevails and the soul heals, where the heart adores. I find my way to a tiny town full of magic and joie de vivre. A place where whispers of the past enquire and secrets speak in the dark. I unpack my bags and allow the magic to wash away with the tide. My heart mends, and my spirit rises from the depredation. I think about the lighthouses lining the coast. The view of the ocean was too great for me to ignore. The adventure of getting in my car and driving was overpowering. Finally, forgetting about my torment and worries was exhilarating. I depart early in the morning, pulling on my jacket with a grin. I speed down the freeway, the wind blowing in my hair, the sunshine on my shoulder. The lighthouses loom like giants on the sea, brightening up the coastline.

I visit the first one, and I’m awed by its beauty and might A towering structure, that can withstand anything in its way, in the flashing light I visit the second one, and I’m charmed by its look and cozy appeal A tiny lighthouse, for this majestic town is fully revealed I drive on, to the next, with a glee and sense of wonder I see the coastline, in all its beauty, wild and a thunder I visit the third one, and I’m awed by its stunning view A lighthouse, firmly planted upon a cliff, admiring the ocean in the blue I visit the fourth one, and I’m struck by its history and might A lighthouse, who helped many seamen find hope in the darkest night I drive on, to the next one, with a sense of adventure and fun I see the coastline, in all its beauty, wild and a bun I visit the fifth one, and I’m charmed by its look and cozy appeal A tiny lighthouse, for this majestic town is fully revealed I visit the sixth one, and I’m awed by its stunning view A lighthouse, firmly planted upon a cliff, admiring the ocean in the blue I drive on, to the next, with a sense of wonder and glee I see the coastline, in all its beauty, wild and a free

I visit the seventh one, and I see its beauty and might. Many will tremble in its shadow in the filthy light. The eighth one is small, and its quaint and cozy deal blesses me. I want to visit more of them and the little ones on the steal. When I return to this world and my own life, I will book a visit to this beautiful site. I shall return to this magical dream. I shall renew my waking moment, and I shall redeem.

Mental Health
Like

About the Creator

Owen Belen

A teller of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.