Poets logo

Freedom from Shackles

I want to break free

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Freedom from Shackles
Photo by niu niu on Unsplash

What is a promise if it’s meant to be broken?

What is a hug if it’s meant to be forsaken?

What is a smile if it’s meant to fade?

What is a tear if all it does is evade?

All I know is that you’re slipping away

From moments I would remember you

And you would be at my side without me asking

To moments I’d bury my face and cry

All I hear is pin drop silence from the other side.

They say happiness is in letting go

But I’ve let too much go

I’ve asked for too little, afraid of being demanding 

And yet I feel like I’ve asked for nothing

and received too much

So I keep giving to make up for these gifts

Returning kindness with time,

attention and care

BUT I STILL HURT.

There is uncertainty in the future

But what is certain now

is this world isn’t for me

Where do I go to find that freedom?

Or is it already here but I cannot see?

Is the rain continuing to pour 

Is that why my vision is blur

Is the rain inside or not

Where do I lay my fears?

People come and go they say

So I sit by the window waiting to wave everyone goodbye

But I think it’s now time for me to walk out that door 

To walk out on myself

So nobody can walk out on me anymore.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    Wow, much emotion in here, like the style, I write a lot with questions, nice writing 😊😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.