Poets logo

Free

You Do Not Belong To Me

By Sade JeromePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Free
Photo by Mehdi Sepehri on Unsplash

Setting you free

Taught me

That love can be bitter sweet

You are not mines to keep

The hardest lesson to learn

Unconditionally can mean

The memory of it can still hurt me

Every now and again when you call to check on me

My eyes burn and my chest stings like a bee

Your voice sticky sweet pouring through my phone like honey

Making the words become trapped at the back of my throat so I can’t speak

I have to remind myself to not be selfish

That this time is what you need

Your

Face

Smile

Laugh

Voice

Remain so lovely

Your rainbow kaleidoscope soul and heart of gold continue to blind me

Soul mate I,

I couldn’t stay angry

In my heart you live rent free

Even if you do not belong to me

And one day you find somebody

Letting you spread your wings

Allows you to experience happy

Thats all I ever want you to be.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Sade Jerome

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.