Poets logo

Free Hugs

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
16
Free Hugs
Photo by Mick De Paola on Unsplash

Everyone needs at least one free hug.

Especially when your problems irritate you like a flying bug.

Offer me a free hug I say.

I promise I’ll wrap my arms around you without delay.

Where are you going in such a hurry?

Why are you running away in such a scurry?

Don’t you want your free hug?

Don’t you see me waving this metal water bottle jug?

What’s your name? Lou, that’s cool!

Don’t be lame! Get a free hug, fool!

You think I’m weird, don’t you, Lou?

Now I’ve thrown my metal jug at you.

I hit you in the head, you said.

Now you’re laying on the ground almost dead, I can see where you bled.

I’ll call an ambulance before you turn the entire sidewalk red.

I accidentally did the same thing to my poor friend, Fred.

Now I have to call my therapist who’s name is Dr. Ted.

“Please help me process what I’m feeling,” I said.

“Fear and panic,” he explained while he read.

“Should I take a breath and help Lou get in the shade?” I asked.

“That would help you mitigate the damages when the judge says he must be paid,” he said.

“I’m so sorry, sir, I did not mean to hurt you…”

Lou was silent.

“I have a large family, so I beg of you, please don’t sue,”

Lou was silent.

“This day I already rue,” I explained.

Lou was still silent.

Does anybody else…. Want a free hug?

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryhumorchildrens poetry
16

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • M.O. Hidalgo11 months ago

    A moment of silence for our friends, Lou and Fred. I'll miss them, but now they're dead. may tomorrow bring new friends. and more hugs to make amends.

  • At first I was like awwww this is so sweet. And then it got bloody sweet! Alex, you speak my language and I love it!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Nice one!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Creative & impressive free hugs!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Sure, I could use a hug. As long as you're not holding any jugs...🙃. I like this poem a lot, Alex. Thanks for sharing.

  • Gokila11 months ago

    Creative thinking 🪄

  • Great job ❤️😉💯😁

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Oh, I liked this one! Dr. Seuss meets Alfred Hitchcock! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.