Poets logo

Fragments of Sorrow

A Surreal Lament

By Abigail WanjiruPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2

In the garden of broken dreams,

Where petals weep and shadows dance,

I roam in the maze of my thoughts.

In the midst of a forgotten time’s reverberations.

The moon is low, a silver phantom.

Shadows that twist and writhe.

For memories unravel like silk threads,

Tying me to the burden of sorrow’s embrace.

I pick stars from the velvet sky,

However, they crumble to dust in my hands.

Disappearing into the dark of night,

Leaving me desolate, alone in the dark.

Faces blur, voices fade,

In this world of broken glass,

In the silence where whispers reverberate.

And echoes murmur a love gone.

I outline the borders of a phantom’s touch.

Yet discover only the cold of empty air,

A ghostly hug that chills me to the bone.

A reminder of everything that’s been taken away.

In this twilight world of shattered reality,

I am a mere shadow, an apparition of myself.

Wandering through the remains of what was.

A mournful, dismal reverberation of a life abandoned.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Abigail Wanjiru

Exploring the shadows of the soul through verses that bleed ink. 🖋️ | Conjuring darkness into poetry | Embracing the beauty in the obscure | #DarkVerse 🔮✨"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Hey there, just wanna let you know that this needs to have the disclaimer added to the beginning or ending, stating that it was created with the help of AI 😊

  • Annetta Brown4 months ago

    I love this. great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.