Poets logo

Four Letters

One Feeling

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
4

Infatuation melted away

Like a thawing glacier

And I can't put a name

To what replaced it but

It's less than five letters

And more than a racing heart

I pulled aside the curtain

You'd half buried yourself in

And found the head to my tails

The North to my South

The steadiness to my shaking

The healing to my breaking

We were opposite ends of a magnet

And I could never ignore the pull

Despite the endless obstacles

And hidden tripwires

The word love dissolves on my tongue

Because it is the one thing

I shouldn't feel for you and

The one emotion I can't stop

Drowning in whenever

I think of you

(I am constantly drowning)

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem check out the one below:

love poems
4

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Love your opening stanza. "Infatuation melted away Like a thawing glacier And I can't put a name To what replaced it but It's less than five letters And more than a racing heart" Also, "the word love dissolves on my tongue." SUBLIME imagery. You are such a compelling poet, Poppy. Such a pleasure to read your work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.