Poets logo

Four, Four, Eight

A Poem About Getting Through

By Emma LaurensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Skydiver at Sunset" by Kristina Nikolaenko

It’s called a chemical imbalance

I just want to set it straight

Why can’t I set it straight

No matter what I do

The scales aren’t in my favor

Help

Help

Help

I need help

My skin prickles

Electrified

Stuck with a thousand pinpricks

Overcome by arcs

Of lighting

A million tiny perfect lightning shocks

Striking faster than

the ticking beat of time’s wicked wings

Flying on

Time flying

I try to catch it

Try to hold on to

The seconds racing past

I want more time

Nothing’s happening

But

Still

I feel like

I’m running out of time

Seconds racing past

Sweat racing down my body

Tears racing down my face

Thoughts racing through my mind

Too many

I can’t

Think

Think

Can’t think

Help

I need help

Breathe

Need to breathe

Need breath

Air

Help

Suck in

Have to suck in

How do you forget how to breathe

Something’s stuck in my throat

Lungs are empty

No

No

It just feels that way

Open mouth

Breathe

Suck in

Suck in air

There

Finally

Breath in my lungs

I’m coughing now

It hurts

Searing pain

But I’m breathing

I’m breathing

I’m crying

That’s okay

Breathe

4 counts in

4 counts held

8 counts out

Again

4 counts in

4 counts held

8 counts out

Again

Tension is leaving

Shoulders fall

Body rests

Relaxed

Relaxing

Parasympathetic mode, they call it

Like a parachute

Slowly, slowly floating down

Floating down

Light-headed

Relaxing

Slow and steady

Just takes time

Floating

Floating down

Floating down

Watching the world pass below

It looks so small

When put in perspective

It looks so small

The big things are small

They don’t matter as much as I thought they did

I can float

I can float down

Take my time

Relax

Big things are small when put in perspective

Perspective

Relax

Relax

Focus on breath

Breathe

Breathing

4 counts in

4 counts held

8 counts out

Again

I can float down

Focus on breathing

Breathing

Breathe

The world even looks beautiful from here

Breathe

4 counts in

4 counts held

8 counts out

Again.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emma Laurens

Emma Laurens is a college student and aspiring writer. Her main interests are creative writing, theatre, film, music, and adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.