Poets logo

Foul-fingered Girl

A Horror Poem

By Rachel LightfootPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Foul-fingered Girl
Photo by Fabio Sangregorio on Unsplash

She crept up to my banquet,

Stole right from my plate

Whetted her lips, widened her eyes

And plunged her foul fingers

straight into my cake.

Wiping a dirty mouth on my tablecloth

She smiled so crookedly at me,

Baring the pieces of my happiness

Held prisoner in her teeth.

Foul-fingered girl came so boldly

And feasted so joyfully on my grief.

Try measure the injustice

A weighing of untruths,

Take one jealous eye for a jealous eye

And one filthy tooth for a filthy tooth.

She took my cake and she ate it

Now it's time for my pound of flesh,

Tip the scales and lift the cleaver

And let's lay the matter to rest.

Cut through to her marrow

Pry my fingers into the cracks

Spool her core onto the table

And show her where she lacks.

As she reflects on what was spilled here

I'll tell her to, "Open wide!"

Force-feed her my retribution

While she chokes down on her pride.

Now, foul-fingered girl,

Today we're dining a la cart,

Take a look at the specials

And then eat out your own heart,

It's a dish I'd like to call, 'dirty little tart'!

So, come feast at my fine table

There are Platters of Entrails and bone,

Take a peek under the cloche

And find the decaying head

of a foul-fingered girl I had once known.

Beware my dear,

The dangers of being so bold

For, revenge is a dish

best served cold.

CONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    this is so amazing go to my post and read the one I have prepared for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.