Poets logo

Forgiving Times

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.

By Nema ReedyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

It takes strength to forgive someone

A person who thinks it is okay to commit their actions behind everyone's back, even your back

Or have the tendency to commit their actions right in front of your eyes

A person who thinks your actions are not okay

I am aware of my actions, I've owned up to them, I've learned from them

I can vow for my pardoned mistakes to a person that I have committed against, or if I have put them in harms way

I've seen my own mistakes, but have you?

It is strange to be around a person who thinks that their tears matter more than anyone else, or yours

Who thinks that their emotions matter more than anyone else, or yours

It can rather be a quite selfish encounter

I redeem myself from those

I keep my distance from those

And it takes strength to forgive those

I forgive them, because I have the will and the courage to step out of the dark, and into the light

You can do a lot better in the light while they are still chasing souls in the dark

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.