Poets logo

Forgiveness

Rhyming Poem

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Forgiveness
Photo by Alex Ronsdorf on Unsplash

So you win again, old friend;

shaming me with your lies.

Twisting my loyalty and love

to shape my own demise.

.

It’s the hardest act to realize:

the one I play as the fool.

But with clarity comes role-shedding

and choosing to end this duel.

.

Though let it be known to you

I won’t walk away silent,

nor forgive with, “oh, it’s okay,”

for I have a larger intent.

.

Because karma is my friend

I gossip to when drunk with pain,

demanding proper retribution

the moment I drop your name.

.

“We sin and God forgives,

so party on,” as you say,

but that cycle of redo

is no longer the game I play.

.

And while I hold the desire

to lower our spiteful debt,

know full well that to forgive

does not mean to forget.

.

I cannot take your plea for peace

to replay this song—“avoid drama.”

Just learn from your doings, for once,

before you meet my friend, karma.

.

So allow me to make my entrance

and declare this dragging party over.

Because I won’t be shamed again

and I like me better sober.

social commentaryStream of ConsciousnessMental Healthinspirational

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: lindsaysfara.com

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    Incredible and powerful message! loved it

  • John Cox9 days ago

    I’m with Paul, Lindsay, I missed your clarion voice!

  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    Wow! This is a powerful piece, Lindsay! And that last line is a jaw dropper! Very well done!

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    Oooooooh. Missed your stunning words, Lindsay! This is so powerful and full of fire. I may be barking up the wrong tree here, but is this about yourself? Felt like it was an internal struggle thing at places...

Lindsay SfaraWritten by Lindsay Sfara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.