Poets logo

FORGET IT

New Beginnings

By Margaret BrennanPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
6

Before I begin my poem, I just want to say that Ann loved it.

She’d made the difficult decision to walk away which spurred my writing juices.

When she saw, in writing, what she’d been going through, the poem made her smile and put her leaving in a more positive perspective.

“Good for you, my friend, for having the courage to begin again.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Forget it!

New beginnings

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

If being your girl means sitting at home,

Waiting for you, but all alone –

FORGET IT!

*

If being your girl means awaiting a call

That might not come this week at all –

FORGET IT!

*

If being your girl means just standing by

While you go out with all the guys –

FORGET IT!

*

I’ve been there before and it’s just not fair

To have a one-sided love affair.

*

So, before I fall and you rip open my heart,

Maybe now is a good time to part.

*

So, if being your girl means that I should be

Waiting around for you to want me –

FORGET IT!

love poems
6

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Margaret, I love the repetitive language you used here! It really lended well to add impact to the power of your words! I love this tribute to a friend of yours and am in awe of your talent, grace and empathy of being able to articulate your words so well!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    A one-sided affair is not a relationship!!! Fantastic advice!!!

  • This was excellent advice! A relationship should never feel like a one-sided love affair. Loved your poem!

  • Darkos7 months ago

    Yeah these kind of unavailable partners are the reason where new real adventure in life starts from without them and it makes the life so rich in experience and real life joy that they will be never able to let You for ! Freedom is often the only way for Life ! there is more love in it than the jumping love bombing phases of unhealthy ones to suck you in for a while to become unavailable again ! Great poem ☺️! true love begins from real friendship it's a long-term journey and it comes naturally often in the worst of the lonely desert to remind that life is to have fun not to wait and cry over schmuck immature one ! Great poem ☺️💜

  • Test7 months ago

    🧡

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    🧡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.