Poets logo

forget

(you)

By Sara Published 8 months ago 1 min read
forget
Photo by Akram Huseyn on Unsplash

i kissed a girl

slept in another man’s bed

because i thought

maybe then

my heart would

forget you.

it didn’t.

i still look for you

in every stranger’s eyes

hear your voice

in my dreams

and your fingers

burned holes

in my skin

nobody’s touch

can erase.

i live with

the remnants

of you:

the gum on my wall

the bracelet on my wrist

the hole in my heart

the darkness under my eyes.

i have ten lovers

but none of them

is you

so i have none

at all.

i put a gravestone

on your memory

that refuses to die

in my soul.

rest in chaos.

because i will never find

peace.

heartbreaklove poems

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Rest in chaos! Gosh I loved that so much!

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    You last three lines are echoing in my head. I hope you are well...

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.