Poets logo

Forced to Grow Up (For Her)

by Mel

By MelPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

mother's instinct;

you either have it or you don't.

you,

the one in question,

did not.

I was sixteen years old;

I should've been worried about school

or my grades,

not taking care of my five year old baby sister.

that should've been

your job,

not mine.

my mom trusted you,

my mom believed in you,

so please explain why

when she was unable to do so,

I was the one who had to

step the fuck up.

I was sixteen years old;

already skipping out on

my own education

just so she could was able

to have her own.

she was five years old;

she deserved the right

to be able have an adult

to call her parental figure.

she didn't deserve to

have to tell her friends

that her "guardian" in question

was her older sister.

you should've stepped up.

you should've been there

for her,

instead of inflicting pain

on her.

I was sixteen years old.

I should've been worried about

school,

or relationships,

or what plans I should make with my friends next;

not stressing about

what assignments I was missing

that day,

or whether or not she made it

to school that day,

or if she had eaten that day.

I was sixteen years old;

so why did it feel like

I had to be so much

older.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.