Poets logo

Forbidden Love

Poem for Those Who Can’t Be with the One They Love

By Ayla QuinnPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

What we have is not normal

It isn’t something that happens every day

It’s something that shouldn’t have started

But it’s something that can’t go away

We stand in front of each other

Smiling and laughing at every word

We look away because we’re afraid

That one of us will break

We slowly nod our heads as we pass each other

Not wanting to give away what we feel

It’s hard not to stop and tell you how I feel

But I feel I would throw everything away

I see the way your eyes sparkle

How you look deep into my soul

You see my every emotion

And comfort me with your smile

Even when I’m having a bad day

I look at you and smile

My worries and pain all go away

With just one glimpse of your sunshine

What we have between us is forbidden

It’s an untouchable love

One that cannot go any further

But one that can’t break away

I wish things were different

I wish I could help you see

How much you really mean to me

And how much I want to stay

I want to hold you in my arms

Every waking day

And tell you how much I love you

Carefree every day of the year

I want to make you happy

I want to make you smile

I want to wipe your tears

I want to clear your sorrows

I wish we could be together

But our love just can’t be

The only way it’s possible

Is if you leave her for me

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.