Poets logo

For those who feel like life isn’t worth living

You will get through this

By NataliePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
For those who feel like life isn’t worth living
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Don't kill yourself today because your Netflix free trial still has one week left.

Don't kill yourself today because no one else will finish of the chicken in the fridge.

Don't kill yourself today because I know for a fact Starbucks are introducing a new frappachino next month.

Yes, your mother will miss you. Yes, your bully will post a sappy Facebook post about what a wonderful person you were. Yes, suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem. But you know that. You've known that. Anyone and everyone has been shoving that down your throat since you first learnt about what suicide meant. These slogans may have lost their meaning but anything that keeps you alive is worth saying.

So don't kill yourself until you finish your shampoo and conditioner at the same time.

Don't kill yourself until Doctor Who is finally cancelled.

Don't kill yourself until you tell someone your best pasta recipe.

Don't kill yourself because I will keep coming up with more reasons and I need you to hear all of them.

Don't kill yourself because I love you. You're important.

It's a bad day not a bad life. There is more to this. The world will keep spinning on its axis without you but think of all the sunsets and sunrises you will miss. Think of all the tears you will never get to shed. Think of all the celebrity twitter fights, all the puppies and the goldfish. Think of all the sunflowers and the frozen yogurt flavours. I know this sounds pointless.

When your sitting in front of everything deadly on your own, and revising your goodbyes, there will be too much darkness for you to see anything else. But this is not about seeing anything else. This is about turning of the lights. This is about finding the bedsheets instead of the noose. This is about giving yourself just one more day. Even if it takes 10,000 of those "one more mornings" before you get to "I can't wait for tomorrow". This is about staying alive because it's summer or pumpkin season. This is about staying alive because the future is coming and it is ready for you. I don't need you to see it. I just need you to believe that you can make it until then

-Hannah Dains

.

.

.

I saw this earlier today and it was so powerful so I thought I'd share it with all of you in case you needed to hear this today too. You're all worth it. Everyone deserves to be here. You were given this life because you are strong enough to live it.

Dains shares such a powerful message in this spoken poetry. We all have our own battles we don’t speak about but she initiates the idea that if we just wait 1 more minute, 1 more hour, 1 more day, things could change. It’s all about taking it one day at a time. You must live, truly LIVE, before you die. Let your voice be heard. You don’t deserve to die. You deserve life.

Life that is enjoyable

Life that is peaceful

Life that is whatever you make it

Live for you.

Live for the chance to have a better life.

If living in modern times was easy, we’d all be miserable. It’s about working hard and putting in effort to keep the mind active and healthy. You’re stronger than you give yourself credit for. I’m not going to go on about all that ‘fake it till you make it’ bullshit because, to me, it’s not helpful to hear. It teaches you to put up a mask and not let anyone in. That’s how I see it. What people really need to hear is that they are not in this fight alone. That they won’t leave when things get tough. That instead of trying to fix them, they’ll simply lend a helping hand to guide the way through the darkness. It’s okay not to be okay but it’s not okay to stay silent. Break the stigma. Reaching out at crisis point is not attention seeking. It is seeking help. They are drowning and they are not bad people for the ways they try to kill the sadness. They want it all to stop but I promise you that is not the way. You are loved by so many and if you hold on that little while longer, you’ll realise how worthy you are. You’ll realise that suicide isn’t the answer but reaching out is. Talk to someone. Anyone. Just please remember you are never alone. Never.

You know what, yes I will go into this. I, too, suffer with mental health and I was so so close to doing something to myself once but then out of nowhere this woman hugged me and stopped me.

At rock bottom, you don’t realise how much your loved and how needed you are in this world. The fact a single stranger, went out of their way, to stop me from doing something so bad to myself. Doing something so considerate for someone and going out of their way to help me because they genuinely cared

It’s really hard to come by nice people like that but I’m glad she was there. A year later, I feel forever thankful for her. But that’s exactly my point. You matter and you always will matter. You’re not a burden on anyone. Not on ur friends and definitely not on ur family. The ones who love you will always need you. I see that now. I need to stay for them. Despite all this pain I’m in days in and days out, I must stay for them.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Natalie

Hello everyone and welcome to my page. I hope to inspire and bring your imagination to life. I have such a strong desire for writing stories and I hope you enjoy what I have to offer. With enough said, get to reading!! You won’t regret it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.