Poets logo

For the Plot

believe?

By Bex JordanPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Unexpected Paths (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

I did it for

The plot…

Whether I was

Ready or not

It was time

To take my leave;

Because everyone was

Leaving and all of the

Signs I didn't believe in

Were pointing in

A direction and I

Was finally paying

Attention.

I was miserable,

And so far

From where I wanted

To be, and so

I fired the writers and

Took control of

The narrative,

And I will

Hold that.

I can't let somebody

Else dictate my

Storyline, I won't

Let it happen again,

And yet…

I did it for her:

I found someone worth

Bending over backwards for

And she set the bar

So

High

I couldn't find

Anyone I'd rather be

Flipping my life around

To be near to,

And she is worthy of

So much more than

A cross-country move…

But one step at

A time.

The city I left

Was beautiful, but

It was never mine, kept

Rejecting me

Most of the time

(Which is fine)

I found a place

I feel like I actually

Chose

For once

For a change,

I'm facing forward

And trusting in something

I haven't felt in

A long, long while

(maybe for forever).

I said I wouldn't do it

I said I'd hold steady

But for her

I was finally ready

To listen to my heart

To follow my gut

To a new start

And I know

I'll be okay,

No matter what.

I take a

Leap of

Something I don't

Believe in;

She says I'm so capable…

Maybe I'm

Starting

To believe in

Her.

love poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Robyn Peterson8 days ago

    Very beautifully written! I’m loving on your poems today 🖤

  • This was absolutely wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • I love the way this flows , an innovative take on a love poem

Bex JordanWritten by Bex Jordan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.