Poets logo

For Pam, on Our Special Day

(She deserves Shakespeare. I'm glad she settled for me.)

By Dana CrandellPublished 11 months ago โ€ข Updated 4 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
24
For Pam, on Our Special Day
Photo by Chris Briggs on Unsplash

You've walked with me through fire and freezing rain

Sailed seas of doubt with neither chart nor star

Flown wildly over desolate terrain

And weathered storms that were too strong, by far.

*

Those times the hand upon the wheel was yours,

With true and steady grace, you steered us through

And when, at times, I lost familiar shores,

The guiding light that brought me home was you.

*

You've shared my joy and blessed me with your own.

Your laughter lifts my soul and fills my heart.

Because of you, I never dream alone

And every dream I've chased, you've helped me start.

*

You are my moon and stars, my sun by day,

My Love, my Life, my Reason and my Way.

***

Happy Anniversary, Babe!

love poems
24

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey11 months ago

    Happy. Anniversary

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    AH! Grandpappie. What a lucky chap you are. Hope you have many more of these to write prose about. Sail blissfully on your lovely cloud.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    This was so full of love. What beautiful words to convey your story. Happy belated anniversary :)

  • Test11 months ago

    Very touching. Beautiful๐Ÿ‘Pernoste

  • L.C. Schรคfer11 months ago

    Happy anniversary to you both - a lovely tribute, thank you for sharing

  • Awww, this was such a sweet and wonderful poem! Wishing you and Pam and veryyyy Happy Anniversary!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Omg, this is so sweet and beautiful, Dana ๐Ÿฅฒ Happy Anniversary!! "The guiding light that brought me home was you."...I love that so much. โค๏ธ You really have a gift! ๐Ÿฅนโค๏ธ

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Happy Anniversary! What a lovely way to say it. Have a fabulous day.

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Happy Anniversary to you and Pam! What a gorgeous gift to her! So romantic and an absolutely beautiful tribute to the love you share, Dana! Amazing job!

  • Lea Springer11 months ago

    Congratulations! What an amazingly beautiful sonnet to honor you wife! I've missed reading your work & will for a while. I'm leaving vocal today but may be back in the winter. I don't know where I can write a good-bye to everyone so I'll write it in your space & maybe you can pass it on. I have a new book on its way, "Where the Bush Planes Flew" that will be on Amazon soon Best of luck to everyone. Lea

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Oh well done, Dana! I hope Pam appreciates the discipline involved in creating a sonnet of such loveliness. And congratulations to the both of you! ๐ŸŽ‰โœจ๐ŸŽ†

  • ARC11 months ago

    Beautiful, Dana. What a gift you give each other, this love of yours. Congrats, well-done, and Happy Anniversary!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Aww, happy anniversary! This was too sweet. ๐Ÿ˜ Lovely verses.

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Awww ๐Ÿฅฐ thatโ€™s so romantic

  • Mark Gagnon11 months ago

    Happy anniversary to you both!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Awwwww! This is such beautiful gift! Happy Anniversary! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Happy anniversary to you both! Iโ€™m sure she will enjoy this lovely poem. Itโ€™s way better than any greeting card could say.

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Happy Anniversary, Dana!

  • Beautifully written ๐Ÿ“ my friend and Happy Anniversary โœจ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅ‚

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Happiest of anniversaries to you!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Well now, bravo, Dana! This is beautiful and a great tribute to your (not going to say long-suffering...really not going to say it - haha) wife! Love it. Also,, happy anniversary to you and Pam!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.