Poets logo

For my son

Waiting

By Christy R DavisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
For my son
Photo by Luke Brugger on Unsplash

The Sphinx says his secret is seduction and intimidation.

But writing is a rebellion against photographic-like precision.

And waiting is the human

the oldest form of pastime.

In March, when Venus and Jupiter are inseparable

I had longed for you to come earlier.

The night when I couldn't sleep was a Cambrian longer than the night when I slept.

Every time I turn over, the trilobite sheds its shell.

What a long night, every minute is long.

For this, I had offered a snail's eye.

I long for you, again, to come on the day of the appointment.

Not too early, not too late.

I will try to love you, at three o'clock in the morning.

With silvery white snow, and

a masked weary look.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Christy R Davis

If you want your dreams to come true, you must first wake up from your dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.