Poets logo

For My River, for Giving Me Life

I love you.

By LIFE MAZIPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Evan Clark on Unsplash 

The universe is always on our side.

Even though she forces us to go through ups and downs

Crying and shouting

Until we feel calmer inside.

I wonder how I can't move on

And it hits me that I will always love you

All my life.

Even though I can't hold your hand

Or guide you the way i want

The occasional hug and smile

Keeps me alive.

Don't get me wrong, to myself i am more kind

And since January of '18 I have had to

Learn that by and by

But instead of tricking myself that

I meant nothing to you

And that you love the new girl more than you ever loved me

I can replay the great memories in my mind

And with happiness I cry.

Today I wanted to scream I LOVE YOU, MY RIVER

I LOVE YOU

But you weren't there to hear it.

Instead I thanked the universe for the way we always seem to collide

So I can make sure you're okay

Beyond the dreams of you I have.

I go over the era where we existed as a duo

And sigh

I wish I had been more kind.

I called you the love of my life

And am truly grateful for the time you shared with me.

Anger has passed and fondness replies

Through warmth and music and sunlight.

I hope one day you read this and smile

And you remember how your kitty tried

To fight.

One day if you ever need me, I will be at home in our space ready for your mind.

My final promise, I will keep until I die.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.