Poets logo

for Iris, with love

A miserable man with two tea cups

By JessiPublished about a year ago 2 min read
2
for Iris, with love
Photo by Daria Kraplak on Unsplash

For Iris, with love:

The overcast skies are your tearful eyes

Misty as the ocean tide

But when the sun is out, I hide away

I can't bear to see it rise without your face

Without your skin touching mine

Without your sleepy little yawn

I miss you when the days are long

And when the nights are short I dream alone

I dream of a world where you are mine

Or a time before I knew your smile

Then I wake, and the pain reminds me

Watching your train leave my side...

was like a firey sword in my side

I know there were no words I could say

strong enough to pull you my way

Dear, Iris, I pray for your happiness

Despite it all, I pray you find your bliss

It kills me that it wasn't my kiss

It kills me my lips couldn't save you with words

and making love to you wasn't enough

To taste you again...

Even just to hold your goddamn hand...

Oh, Iris, Please come home

There's no home here without you

I feel so beside myself

An empty shelf where your books used to be

I have two teacups,

and I want to never drink tea again

It reminds me too much of you

the way you used to stir four times clockwise

My face, I barely recognize

I have a loaf of bread you bought

just sitting in the cupboard to rot

Tell me why it feels good to watch

Maybe I feel less alone watching something die with me

Even with this pain in my chest,

I really do wish you the best

I just wish more that the best was me

Anyway, I'm thinking of tossing the bread

I don't want to be a miserable man

I want to be a man that deserves you

A man that has his own books

Bakes his own bread

Always waiting,

A miserable man with two tea cups

vintagesad poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Jessi

Writer on the Oregon coast. Lover of nature, poetry, and coffee! I love to write about my travels, lovers + mental health. Thanks for your support! Feel free to browse, share, and comment away. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Vijay Periannanabout a year ago

    This poem is a heartbreaking expression of love and longing. The use of vivid imagery, such as the comparison between overcast skies and tearful eyes, and the mention of specific details, like stirring the tea four times clockwise, make the emotions feel real and raw. It's clear that the speaker is struggling to come to terms with the loss of their beloved, and the final lines about wanting to become a better person are particularly poignant. Overall, this is a beautifully written poem that captures the pain and complexity of love and loss

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.