Poets logo

For Everything It Was And Wasn't

a poem

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
13
photo by Angelica Reyn on Pexels

I first visited Arizona

to find my skin again.

It was lost

somewhere southward

in Oklahoma

or maybe Oregon

after a careless downpour

of impressions

that what I was born with

wasn’t enough.

Worried it would weather,

I packed it away

like a sun bleached dress

or moth-loved sweater

and tried to forget

where it hid

until its season came,

but it never really did.

I could still

feel it—

the brush of rawness

on dry days when

the sky was clear

and I yearned to swim

in the murky river.

I once showed it

to an insecure

man who told me,

"You must be

stronger than this,"

and to the sisterly

who turned her eyes

and wept,

"You have so many

scars."

I stopped in Arizona

to unearth

my skin from layers

of remedies for their

problems, never mine.

and that’s where

I found it—

an instinct surfaced

from the deepest

parts of my soul.

We must cleanse.

So, I waded naked

through caressing moonlight

and bathed in

arms of the monsoon,

letting caked

and hardened untruths

melt away into

the once arid clay.

I made home

that night

in Arizona

when I realized

this was comfort

because for everything

it was and wasn’t,

I wore my own skin.

inspirationalnature poetryvintagesocial commentary
13

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickersonabout a year ago

    Super relatable. Washing and wearing our own skin is insurmountably important

  • De Liana2 years ago

    Nice.

  • Wall Berry2 years ago

    Beautiful. Beautiful. Beautiful!

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    Beautiful. Beautiful. Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.