Poets logo

Patience of the Finless

a poem

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
6
Photo by Alan Cabello on Pexels

Cast away,

I found a cave

and waded bare in the

tide pools, soothing

a lack thereof cleaved

from my still beating heart.

I befriended starfish

and frisky anemones,

yet I wasn't worried

about the sting

of jellyfish or urchins

because I had been

an oceanic soul,

at least once, before

my fins were stolen.

I scoured this beach

and razored reef

for the pearls

a sailor once told

me could heal your curse,

but all I found were stones

and crystals

that had lived

among the stars.

Lonely, I attempted

home making,

tried to find comfort,

as I had before, between

rock and salt water,

but the shape of your name

always came to me

in the waves,

the wind,

the heron,

who dipped her toes

below the surface

and lured desperate fish.

I had become the prey.

Odd it was—

fooled by a fantasy

despite being

one myself.

Shells mark the boundary

of my home—a silly

remnant

from the life I wished

for us. It wasn’t

until the Queen’s

feathered general

met me

by the tide

with your message in a bottle

that I realized

we were promised

more than fragments.

I will find you.

I will find you.

I will find you.

So, I wait patiently,

scales on sand girt,

empty handed

and hoping we

could learn to accept

even the fruitless, insipid

parts of our myth.

_________________

*This poem is part of an ongoing anthology. If you are interested in reading more, please visit the poems linked below!

Melody of the Lost Echo - https://vocal.media/poets/melody-of-the-lost-echo

Tragedy of the Mermaid and Her Princess - https://vocal.media/poets/tragedy-of-the-mermaid-and-her-princess

love poemsnature poetrysad poetryvintage
6

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickersonabout a year ago

    Lovely. I love the reminiscent tone of this work

  • Wall Berry2 years ago

    Nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.