Poets logo

FOR BETTER OR WORSE

sometimes, I wonder

By Margaret BrennanPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read

FOR BETTER OR WORSE

Now and then I wonder

I wrote this about six weeks after my ex became my ex. I am SO glad he became my ex. My sons and I survived extremely well. Enough said!

I wonder every now and then,

How different things might be

If you stayed a little longer,

And remained in love with me.

*

Would our children have grown up to be

Happy young adults?

If you stayed, would they have run away,

Or joined some sort of cults?

*

Would they be faithful, family men,

With children of their own?

Or would they have been junkies,

With their minds and brains half-blown?

*

Ad how would I have managed,

If you had stayed a while?

Would I still have my sanity

And be able still to smile?

*

Would you have stopped your cheating?

Or would I be forever cursed?

I had hoped you would be better –

But you turned out for the worst!

love poems

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Valentina Savage11 months ago

    I like! Great

  • Wow 😮 - This was Profound ❤️🥹📝

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.