Poets logo

For All The Good Times

Our memories are all that’s left

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
7
For All The Good Times
Photo by kevin laminto on Unsplash

Here I am laying around thinking, that life is pretty okay

That my world is a good place to be,

And I wanted to write down how I’m feeling today

To take out on bad days, as a reminder to me.

By Pars Sahin on Unsplash

I’ve written many times about the tears I’ve shed

And those tears were usually about you,

But I may not have written about the happy times

As there were plenty of those times too.

By Jacqueline Munguía on Unsplash

Like my engagement ring stuffed in a lolly box

And from that day on, worn with a smile,

Or a bunch of flowers so unexpectedly received

When an injury laid me up for awhile.

By Leonardo Wong on Unsplash

Or a dinner of fish and chips in a WA resort

Eaten off newspaper sitting on the beach,

A meal in a restaurant called ‘Dirty Dicks’

Not all that cheap but within our reach.

By Samuel tresch on Unsplash

A single flower would occasionally arrive at work

And I remember those hung-over Sunday’s in bed,

A friend’s greasy dinner on Sunday night

While a full on drumming band played in your head.

By Isabella and Zsa Fischer on Unsplash

Now that we no longer share any ties

Our memories are the best that we’ll get,

Though it hurts how much I miss you

It was all too good to regret.

*************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.