Poets logo

Footsteps in the Attic

A Patchwork Sin

By B.T.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
5

There are footsteps in the attic.

Sometimes they are my mother’s footsteps when she was young, light and quick over the creaky floorboards.

Sometimes they belong to my father, heavy and menacing.

Sometimes they are thunderous and rowdy, as if everyone I have ever met are collected there, having a grand party.

Sometimes they are quieter, taking care not to disturb me.

Sometimes I feel their vibrations throughout the whole of the house.

Sometimes they are only echoes of themselves through the corridors.

But, always, there are footsteps in the attic.

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

B.T.

It wouldn't do not to see...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Yvonne M. I entered a challenge with the Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Group. The challenge was to chose two writers from "Writers We're Loving" on the Vocal home page, write an article highlighting their work and submit it to Vocal for publishing. I chose you as my first writer and wrote a review of your poem, "Footsteps in the Attic", then wrote a brief intro to your story :"Darwin" and posted the links in my artile. You can click on my picture on the left and read the article if you want to I hope you dont mind my featuring your work. It was superlative!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    I can relate to this touching poem. Those people who have gone before us leave a footprint/handprint, soul print of themselves for us to sometimes feel. Attics that hold old relics and memories are likely places to feel their presence. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.