Poets logo

footsteps

another poem

By Lucia LinnPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
Like
footsteps
Photo by Jake Hills on Unsplash

I don't like the sound of my footsteps,

When no one's around.

My mind rejects

That there could be only me

In this space, so empty and cluttered

With things alive but not living:

A single soul,

A singular presence.

Pulling away,

I feel myself drifting off,

Fading into the scene;

I am the trees around me,

Rough bark, rotting leaves.

I am the skies, sunk down in hazy mists,

Kissing every surface with cold.

I am among the crouching squirrels,

Among the rattling bushes,

Creeping down into the damp earth.

But my footsteps sound out still,

Not part of me;

They travel alone,

A ghostly entity

As they walk to nowhere,

From nowhere;

Mindless, just sounds:

Step,

Step,

Step.

Just pressure,

Just contact;

Souls on stone.

And my footsteps follow me home.

Stream of Consciousness
Like

About the Creator

Lucia Linn

”Some days I feel like playing it smooth and some days I feel like playing it like a waffle iron.” -Raymond Chandler

Bits of fantasy and poetry and whatnot here, comedic comics on Instagram @mostlymecomics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.