Poets logo

Footprints In The Snow

Love In Winter

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Footprints In The Snow
Photo by Alex Brisbey on Unsplash

As I look out of our bedroom window

At the world in white, stretched out below

Memories of our time together

Are Like footprints in the snow.

***

Before we met I was Like a naked tree

Barren of joy, barely holding on

Like an expanse of unbroken snow

Cold and crisp and all alone.

***

To the onlooker, perhaps beautiful to behold

To me frigid and difficult to bear

My daily existence I lived in a nightmare

For my existence, I didn’t care.

***

And then one day, like a snowflake from heaven

Beautiful beyond compare

Individual, complex, and breathtaking

You added to my life a whole new layer.

***

Joy and laughter were now in my palette

Green leaves of life rather than naked boughs

A new thirst for living and hope for our future

One smile my love and our exchange of vows.

***

Now as I look out of our bedroom window

At the world of white stretched out below

My heart swells and love abounds

To see our children’s footprints in the snow.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.