Poets logo

Fools Playing Pretend

Bite In The Rotten Apple Of Life

By YonathanJPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
Fools Playing Pretend
Photo by Random Institute on Unsplash

Awakaned in the early hours of the morning

Spiraling away in existential dread

As if I'd realized how powerless I was

and ever will be

-

Facing my life as it is, mere slave

Slave yes! Forced to live, work, laugh

and sleep, escaping is forbidden.

Wait, this isn't a prison?

-

The fruit of life lost all its appeal

A mere bitter, revolting apple

a bit rotten in some places

yet there is nothing else to eat!

-

Humans were never special

Only smart enough to hurt itself in its confusion

Superior than animals? In the image of God?

Ha! How hilarious we are in our delusions

-

Laughing at dogs chasing their tails, silly creatures

as we run in circle, grasping at every silly sensations

pleasures, distractions from just how

powerless, inconsequential we all are

-

Be he the eminent Prime Minister or, hell,

a billionaire, an emperor or whatever it is you hold in high esteem;

nothing more than fools playing pretend

-

Oh if only true freedom was possible;

I'd spread my wings and live,

suffer and die how I see fit,

at least that would be of comfort...

Hey, a fool can dream at least

Stream of Consciousness
1

About the Creator

YonathanJ

I've been an avid reader for as long as I remember, and a writer since childhood. Crafting stories fascinate me. I write to share my outlook on life, that is often taken too seriously. Hope you enjoy my writings

www.youtube.com/@YonathanJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.