Poets logo

Food

I've been struggling with food for as long as I can remember. I lose weight and gain it back all the time. Sometimes I starve myself on purpose or overeat if I haven't eaten in a long time. I'm trying to build a healthy relationship with food, but it's hard.

By Lika TsoiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I often starve myself just to make myself feel pretty.

I avoid eating the food I love, and often I drown in self-pity.

I count calories, avoid junk food and don't eat after six.

I don't drink soft drinks and don't eat burgers and chips.

Whenever I eat sweets, I blame myself, and I get mad.

But I still eat chocolate and cookies whenever I feel sad.

I either overeat or don't eat a thing for the entire day.

I lose weight when I'm at home and gain it back when I'm away.

I never thought I was overweight, but my mum told me that I was.

I have a horrible relationship with food; I wish I had been diagnosed.

I stay in bed and sleep all day to avoid thinking about food.

Whenever I am tired and starving, I'm in an awful mood.

I have big thighs, stretch marks, huge hips.

My legs are short, my eyes are big, and so are my lips.

I don't know what I like about myself, but I do know what I don't.

I used to love myself and think I was pretty, but now I guess I am not.

I'm not a model and don't have abs, and I'm not skinny.

I don't wear skirts or dresses, especially if they're mini.

I wear jeans and hoodies that are twice my size.

When I go out, my friends, not me, always get with pretty guys.

The soul is more important than what you see on the outside.

I should love myself for being me, and trust me, I have tried.

It's hard to love yourself when you only see what others see.

I hope one day I will love my body and myself for being me.

I'm sorry if you can relate and sorry if you feel the same.

I'm sorry if you don't understand and think I sound lame.

There are so many pretty souls out there that people do not see.

I hope one day you'll love yourself, and I will learn how to love me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lika Tsoi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.