Poets logo

Foiled & Thwarted

That's how my day went...

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago 2 min read
5

so i'd settled down to write today

i was setting some serious work mood

curtains drawn all the way to let the autumn sun in

a perfect way to chase away the gloom

fresh cup of coffee ready

ablutions squared away

not mucking around now

gonna make the most of today

fired up my dusty aging PC

loaded the OS of my choosing

refreshened the link to my nearby phone

this was fuckin serious i wasn't even boozing

opened up three new Word tabs

connected Winamp to my device

this was about to get really good

good is good yes like nice!

and in this quiet created of my choosing

i put on a favourite record called Shiver

by a band from Perth called Tall Tales and True

add it to your play list!

you can thank me later for the tip

still as good now as it was when it was new

and you have to play it like a record

play side one and then side two

barely ten seconds into the opening track

everything went black and dead

had i bothered to look up i would have seen

half a dozen TC’s barely ten feet ahead

witches hats were up, frames were coming down

core flutes had been prepared offsite

they shut my street down in thirty seconds flat

and left a sign that said:

LOCAL

TRAFFIC

ONLY

a planned power outage in my area

there was a letter sent last week

completely slipped my mind it did

and left me up that famous creek

so i sat here all day without power

i had my dogs and cats, not alone

i would have sent this through hours ago

but i cant publish from my phone!

social commentaryfact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    deserves a crown for it, captures a moment so real and makes us all understand how you feel.👍😍❤️

  • Gokilaabout a year ago

    lit

  • Ugh Power outages suck😳💯❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.