Poets logo

How Much

is not enough?

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7

this sleep that eludes me now

may have been found in the past

i may have cleaned out this account

some other time ago

a long lost nap

indebted to another time

but not to this now

the sleep that really i need now

the one that hides behind my eyes

teases then spoils

releases then coils

the sleep that really i need now

so close but still out of reach

is behaving in a world

manifested of its own selfish agendas

it tries to pass the buck and blame

i hear it snigger in the background

like it’s oblivious to this game

the sleep that i really need now

the one i see drift around the room

hangs in strands

like spectral Spanish moss

and then it sort of spirals

autonomously accelerating

knowing this and that

is about the last

thing i desire or need

it just goes round

and round

and round

and round

error four - zero – four . . .

the sleep you require

cannot be found

social commentary
7

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jacob Shermanabout a year ago

    Tried taking off my socks. Tried not eating right before bedtime, tried eating a lot right before bedtime, tried it with a drink, tried it with a smoke, tried it with my wife but admittedly never tried it with a bloke. If I find the answer to this riddle, I'll contact you immediately.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.