Poets logo

Foetus

I’m so so sorry for this image. I can barely glance at it! I chose it because it serves to powerfully reinforce the message conveyed in this poem.

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
15
Foetus
Photo by Daniel Gregoire on Unsplash

Consciousness cursed

betrayed before birth

thoughts become matter

poisonous anger, shatters

as cortisol seeps

Deep

into the physical

emotional

& spiritual,

infecting the mind

at a stage so critical

.

her wrath swaddles me

in poisoned flame

set ablaze

burning,

I’m Burning,

Yearning for relief

for release

help me, please

.

unsafe outwith

I’m frozen

unsafe within

I’m cremating

helpless, suffering

fire feeding

insatiable for fuel

hungry for

sweet, delicate

unshielded flesh

Unyielding

.

consciousness cursed

betrayed before birth

confined

isolated

condemned

hated?

Trapped

in Hell’s prison

that should have been

Heaven

======================================================

Author’s Note

When my young mother was pregnant with me, she was verbally and violently attacked by her drunk stepfather. Although his punch didn’t land (thanks to my aunt stepping in and taking that black eye) my mother was obviously extremely distressed.

As was I.

This event had severe repercussions on my life. Before I had even entered this world, my conscious had formed a world view that was something akin to this;

The world is not safe or predictable.

People are not safe or predictable.

Men, especially, are not safe.

Men are abusive and more akin to animals than humans, especially when intoxicated.

My mother can’t or won’t protect me.

My father is absent and can’t or won’t protect me.

I am not loved.

One minute everything is safe, and the next people will try to kill me. Life is extremes.

This world is unloving and violent.

Family means abuse.

I am trapped inside hell and there is no escape.

I have no choice but to accept and endure this suffering and pain.

I must keep trying harder to connect with my parents.

I must try harder in order to be loved and (therefore) safe.

I am vulnerable and easy prey.

It’s safer to keep moving from place to place. If I stay too long I may be trapped again.

I can’t scream.

No one can help me.

and so on….and so on….

.

These deep beliefs heavily shaped my narrative thus far and became the main programmes governing my life. It has taken decades to become aware of and do the excruciating work to undo these firmly held, detrimental and limiting beliefs.

It doesn’t take an incident as severe as this to severely, adversely affect the consciousness of an unborn child. All it takes is for cortisol to enter the mother’s bloodstream. That cortisol is poison to the human body and especially damaging to a vulnerable foetus.

Of course we are resilient. A baby won’t die if it’s mother spends a day or two in anger after all (what is the limit?).

However, we should not be talking about survival and what we can withstand. We should be talking about creating the conditions for a baby to thrive within.

A truly safe, loving, nurturing environment teaches a child to expect the same from his reality post-birth. If all children were nurtured this way? We would indeed see heaven unfold before our eyes. All it takes is for one generation to be raised free from trauma and cortisol poisoning.

I am only too aware of how vastly different my created reality would have been without this incident. Or without my mother having to work throughout her pregnancy (which was in a public bar / restaurant at a time when smoking indoors was legal). I can so clearly see how my life and beliefs about life were shaped by events that I had zero control over.

Just as your’s was.

What releases cortisol?

In short?

Stress. Fear. Anger.

No matter how much you think you can justify anger, grief, fear, your addiction to horror and gore, or ‘enjoyment’ reading about war, or addiction to toxic food products or sugar, alcohol, (and so on), there is no getting away from the toxic chemistry of negative emotion, chemistry and fear programming.

Spend enough time reading the academic research on the biology of emotions and the effects of cortisol and you will conclude the same.

We must awaken to this.

This is not just relavent to pregnancy. It’s relavent to all of us. After all, why would you consider the life of another more valuable than your own?

social commentary
15

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    The poem and the author's note are very moving and clearly from the heart.💙 Where are we as a species, as souls, if we don't make it an ingrained priority (more important than our own lives) to protect the innocent and those who care for (or bear) the innocent? Luckily babies are enormously resistant and powerful in their self-healing, so the damage done in utero is minimal for these things, but the early years of life in the same situation is very damaging. Nicely written and heart-breaking in your note. 💙Anneliese

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Your poem is amazing, commanding so much truth and emotion. That repetition in the last stanza—wow. As to your commentary, I can’t say I fully agree, as others have stated. Cortisol is a natural hormone, it’s what wakes us up in the morning. It’s not JUST the stress hormone. I understand the poetic heart of this piece and of your connection to the terrible incident your mother suffered. I adore the process of connecting things like that to other life experiences, drawing the lines of understanding, and writing about them to better grasp it all. To say that a pregnancy that experiences too much cortisol is not a thriving environment for the baby, well, I'm not convinced. There are so many factors that provide fetal comfort: mother’s heartbeat, hearing mama talk, serotonin, etc. Now, constant fear or stress, yes—that is unhealthy for the mother, and an unhealthy mother can’t be good for the baby, though even then, babies are resilient when they are in the womb. I am more inclined to think that post-birth experiences hold more weight in shaping subconscious fears, habits, beliefs about the world, even at young stages of infancy. I wouldn’t doubt some of that can be acquired in utero, but I can’t believe that cortisol is the sole factor. Much of this is way more complex, scientifically speaking, than we can hope to ever understand; a mystery of God. The best we can do is be as healthy and natural as possible, to make the pre born experience match the post; for a peaceful pregnancy will matter very little if the post world is full of stress and fear. And to remember that hardships do make a person. I wouldn't want to coddle my baby and then throw them out to the cold world, unprepared. Complicated. Seriously, though; I adore your poem. Your style is so compelling and thought provoking, and a joy to read! Sorry for the long reply; this is a layered subject.

  • Omgggg, I'm so sorry that happened, to your mom, you and your aunt 🥺 I'm glad that you are doing better now. I'm filled with cortisol because all I have is my anger, hate, fear, grief, stress, and addiction to horror and gore. Also, the world isn't safe, people aren't safe and family is abuse. For all of the reasons above is why I would never bring a child into this world. I could never live with the guilt if I subject and innocent life to all these suffering. Your poem made me very emotional. I hope it wasn't too hard writing this and I hope you felt better after writing this. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Hope Martin9 months ago

    Wow! This is powerful. Honestly your talk afterward though, I can partially agree with you and I don't at the same time. And mostly, it's just from life experience. I AGREE - that when the mother is in distress the baby is in distress. And I do know that certain amounts of cortisol can cause a baby experience distress too. However, I am convinced more that the environment after the baby is born is more important. Mom was in a bad way while she was pregnant, but she kept being in that situation after I was born. I have childhood trauma caused by other people that I carry with me to this day. When I was pregnant with my first child though, I spent a lot of time in the hospital. And crying. And in a deep dark pit of despair. I had just had a bariatric surgery. So i was CONVINCED the baby was going to die. And that I became inconsolable. Not to mention the fact that I was pregnant at all was stressful. It was with a man I just left - for being a drug addict PSYCHO. when he learned I was pregnant he became very possessive and threatened to kill anyone near me and burn my house down with me in it. That was very stressful. Needless to say I had a LOT of cortisol in my blood. My daughter though, after she was born, I had made sure to get her away from any people who wouldn't protect her, or keep her safe. It was just me for a little while, just us two on our own but I showered her with love, kept her away from people who would make her feel unsafe. Today she is a 5 year old girl, who is for the most part EXTREMELY happy. And talkative. And stuff. She doesn't react well to stressors, I'll admit. But the biggest stressor she has is her biological father who to this day hasn't changed and has fought for custody and she has to go over there. She comes home traumatized sometimes and telling me things he did, and then sometimes she's sobbing because she doesn't want to leave him and she acts like she's never going to see him again, and yes, I am STILL fighting legally to end this with lawyers and such but it's been a rough go. He's basically using her as a weapon and damaging her in the process. The state of Tennessee insists that all biological parents deserve rights - and I'm hoping that in this case, I prove to them they are wrong. Her trauma responses did not start until after she started having to go to his house legally. So I'm VERY much pro nature vs nuture - and nurture can win out at least 80% of the time. Same with my niece, who is also my adopted daughter. My sister tried to kill herself when she was pregnant. When marlee was born, my sister was... she TRIED to be a good mom but ... She's got issues so she did things that traumatized my niece. When Marlee JUST turned 1, I got custody of her. She didn't know how to play, or eat, or walk, or anything. She didn't even smile. This ONE year old baby, didn't know how to smile or laugh when you tried to play or tickle her. It was the most heart breaking thing. So I worked my BOOTY off, and my bestfriend (sis) and her husband (bubba) worked theirs off with me, and even my daughter who was 3 at the time worked really hard to teach marlee how to be a happy baby. Sky taught her how to play, we worked on her with her eating (and teaching her that she's not going to be starved any more, she doesn't have to eat so fast she chokes), we taught her how to walk, we taught her signlanguage because for the first year she was nonverbal - Now she's 3 years old, going to pre-k, she laughs, she sings, does not EVER shut up, eats properly, laughs, plays pretend, aggravates sky like a true blood younger sister, uses her words, and she's even getting over how she is when she asks me for things. The first year was so hard that I can't tell you how many times i cried myself to sleep - some of that pregnant with my son - who by the way is the HAPPIEST baby on the face of the planet despite all the stress I was under with him for a lot of reasons. Now don't let me fool you, I understand cortisol poisoning. But I believe it affects the mother more than the fetus. And as an adult, we choose whether or not we allow things to affect us. Anxiety and stuff can definetly be instilled while we're in the womb, but the nature that happens afterward can help steady that. We don't grow as people unless we suffer trials and tribulations. I have seen kids who were in a 100% safe enviornment turn out to be the worst sort of individuals - simply because they were bored. As a mother, I never want to see my children have to FIGHT through life the way that I have... but I DO want to see them struggle. It's through struggle that we grow. So I hope they struggle, and they struggle and they struggle. But I only hope they struggle long enough to learn the lessons they need to learn before the struggle is over.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    This was so powerful. My favourite line, "her wrath swaddles me" - clever and poignant. I don't fully agree with your commentary that follows, but it's insightful and I appreciate you sharing it. I'd argue that pregnancy itself can be extremely stressful. Birth, too - often extremely so. Many women face death at this time. Even when they are perfectly safe, the process often does not feel that way. It can feel chaotic, out of control, confusing, intense, alien. She may believe she is dying, or fear that her baby will die, even if neither of those things are going to happen. The trauma in that moment, the cortisol spike that she shares with her baby - they are very real, even if the threat is not. The physiological response in her body is the same to a perceived threat as to a real one. The adrenaline spike women late in the process is a physiological one with a positive purpose. The contractions themselves are stressful to both mother and baby. The pair are *built* to withstand these stressors. I don't think the solution is to avoid all stressors (cortisol inducing things), not least because this is not, in my opinion, a sustainable goal. I believe that women and babies, while certainly deserving of better treatment than they often receive, are also immeasurably strong and powerful in their own right. While you have taken from this the belief that your mother will not protect you, her very biology offered you some protection. The physical layers between you and the outside word - muscle, fluid, fat. Her body rearranged itself to accommodate and protect you, whether she wanted it to or not. The Universe, you might say, considered you important. You had a relative who willingly took a blow to protect a little person she had never met - you had never done anything to deserve such a show of empathy and courage from her. All you did was exist. Yet it was enough. Still, you remain on some level convinced that you are unimportant, unloved, un-loveable. That is incredibly hard-hitting for me, as much, if not more so, than your eloquent and emotional poetry.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    very powerful

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Again, very interesting ideas Kayleigh.. what is it called when trauma is passed down through the generations.. I forget the term. I don’t think it is just parenting styles (nurture & them projecting on us), but similar to you (I think) that some shared trauma is passed down through genes and our personality traits etc! I need to think a bit more about this. ☺️ Thank for a great poem and being so open Kayleigh.

  • Test9 months ago

    Wow so much pain and feelings. Great poem :)

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    Heartfelt. Thank you for sharing your story.

  • ARC9 months ago

    💙 So much 💙

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Poem is incredibly powerful, Kayleigh - emotional language. Well done.

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Wow. Incredible poem and story, and also synchronicity. My recent haiku was literally about this exact same thing. My mom didn’t endure anything like the circumstances your mom did, but like you said – all it takes is cortisol. I’m just beginning to unravel the domino effects on myself and my life of this pre-childhood experience, and suffice it to say they are astounding. This really is not just an intuitive truth, but a fact of science that the world needs to start waking up to. Cus wow, the impacts r crazy. Honored to be here to witness your journey ✨🩷

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Wow Kayleigh, this is so powerful. I’m sorry this happened to you and had such a negative impact though, that’s a terrible thing to happen

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    This is so heartbreaking. I’m sorry your mother had to go through that! It really is true that babies absorb the stress and anxiety of the mother. Greatly written but so sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.