Poets logo

Flood of Fools

The Sober Bard

By Tim StiXPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Flood of Fools
Photo by Sanju M Gurung on Unsplash

Feel the warmth of flooding poison

Neurons pinging, receptors singing, endless shit stops flinging

Little grey cells, all bathed and moistened

***

Crack open the barrels

And bring out the flasks

Air out the carols

It’s time for some laughs

Unstopper the bottles

Slop-up all the wine

Let’s all get besottled

Aged vine is divine

***

Spirits and bear-pong

Beer-nuts and cheese

Tankards a yard long

I’ll down them with ease

Whisky with peach snaps

Bring ‘em here fast

And pour us a stopgap

These shots just don’t last

***

My eyes have grown heavy

And my lips have gone numb

I wanted to light foot

But fell on my bum

Jester where are you

We need you to fool

Make us look smarter

We’re starting to drool

***

But the Jester just burped

And grabbed wine off the shelf

Then proceeded to pass out

Fall down ...

and snore ...

and half-an-hour later ...

or more ...

soil himself!

***

At ten in the morning, I wake up in my clothes

Covered in something that curdles my nose

At home in my zone

I must have partied alone

The Jester and I, a single rose!

***

Feel the warmth of flooding poison

Neurons pinging, receptors singing, endless shit stops flinging

Flood of fools, alone and noisome

Tim StiX Feb 2021

Tim StiX is The Sober Bard on Vocal.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Tim StiX

Tim StiX alias Tim Styx. Manic Master of The Internet of Things and The Sober Bard.

www.TimStiX.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.